Saturday, 25 July 2015

Determining the jurisdiction of CIVIL COURTS

Based on roman and Latin laws, the jurisdiction of civil courts is defined under The CIVIL PROCEDURE CODE as:

1. Where the property is situated ( LEX  SITUS)

2. where the act is committed ( LEX ACTUS)

3. where the wrong has been committed ( LEX DELICTI)

4. Where the function or ceremony was held ( LEX CELEBRATIONIS)

5. The place of Domicile ( LEX DOMICILI)

6. The place of solving the dispute ( LEX SOLUTIONIS)

The code of civil procedure also provides that Every suit shall be instituted in the Court of the LOWEST GRADE competent to try it.

Pecuniary Jurisdiction plays an important role in this determination of jurisdiction.


Post a Comment